The deadline to submit nominations for the Gladys Award is now open

Gipuzkoa, News

The Gladys Award aims to recognize the trajectory and promote the projection of women up to 40 years old.

In this edition, the procedure for submitting nominations has been simplified.

The winner will receive a prize of 4,000 euros.

Organized by PUNTUEUS and the Faculty of Computer Science of the UPV/EHU, the fourth edition of the Gladys Award has been presented in Donostia. This initiative is sponsored by the Gender Equality Body of the Gipuzkoa Provincial Council and supported by the industrial group Danobatgroup and the Equality Directorate of the UPV/EHU.

This fourth edition has been presented by Olatz Arbelaitz, member of the Equality Commission of the Faculty of Computer Science of the UPV/EHU, Lorea Arakistain, marketing director of PUNTUEUS, Nerea Isasi, provincial director of Equality of the Gipuzkoa Provincial Council, and Idoia Bustinduy, communication manager of the industrial group Danobatgroup.

With its fourth edition, the Gladys Award has become a benchmark in recognizing young women working in the Basque digital environment. Its goal is to encourage young women to start their careers in technology, thus creating new Basque role models. The winning nomination also receives a prize of 4,000 euros.

Olatz Arbelaitz has explained the importance of creating new female role models in the sector: “The Gladys del Estal Award has so far recognized three women with very different profiles working in the digital environment, introducing three new role models to society. But it’s not enough. Many more are needed for society as a whole to be aware of the multiple profiles that can work in the technology sector and for careers in the digital field to be attractive to young girls.”

The goal is to increase participation

In this edition, the aim is to collect the highest number of nominations possible. Nominations for the Gladys Award can be submitted personally or proposed by a third party. Lorea Arakistain, marketing director of PUNTUEUS, has explained that “often potential candidates do not believe they can be suitable to win the award. That’s why we have made it easier to propose nominations, because we know that we are surrounded by women who can be qualified for the award.” Arakistain encourages reflection on young women working in the digital environment: “I’m sure you can think of someone too.”

In light of the potential barriers a woman may face in applying for the award, the process of proposing candidates has been simplified. To nominate someone, it will be sufficient to provide the candidate’s name, surname, contact information, and briefly explain the reason for their nomination for the Gladys Award.

Nerea Isasi, Director of Equality at the Gipuzkoa Provincial Council, has highlighted the work of female computer scientists in the Basque Country: “Female computer scientists are doing exemplary and innovative work in the Basque Country, and the Gladys Award offers an excellent opportunity to give visibility and value to this effort.”

Furthermore, she has emphasized the importance of attracting new generations of women to science and technology towards a digital and egalitarian future: “We must offer role models and inspiration to young girls and women.”

Arbelaitz has also looked to the future: “It’s possible that we have started to reverse the inertia of the last 30 years, but the process is slow, and we have a lot of work to do.”

How to submit nominations

Women working in any area of the digital environment and aged up to 40 years old in 2024 are eligible to participate. The registration period will be open until June 20, 2024. Nominations can be self-submitted or proposed by a third party. In each case, they will be submitted by completing the corresponding form on the website

The Gladys Award was created in 2021 by the PUNTUEUS Foundation and the Faculty of Computer Science of the UPV/EHU, with the support of the Gender Equality Body of the Gipuzkoa Provincial Council and the industrial group  Danobatgroup. In last year’s edition, 28 nominations were evaluated, the highest participation to date.


Otras noticias